Lauren Pope

What brought you to DCCF?
I was looking for something new to do because I was stuck in a rut fitness wise. I knew a few people who did CrossFit and had heard about DCCF from Jamie Gerhard when I went to her for massage. My curiosity won out and I decided to try it out.

How long have you been a member?
10 months

Did you play any sports in High School or College? Past athletic history?
Field Hockey and Swimming in high school

Who inspires you at DCCF?
Everyone finishing the WOD when I walk into the gym. Seeing them pushing til the end encourages me to leave everything out on the floor.

Tell us about your CrossFit goals…
I’d love to improve on all of the gymnastics movements, especially hand stands. Recently I took an Adult Gymnastics class with a few other DCCF members and it was incredibly fun and helpful.

What are your proudest accomplishments in CrossFit?
Anytime I master a new skill, but the best one so far was probably when I finally got double unders.

Since joining, what changes have you seen in your life?
I have a lot more energy both mentally and physically which has allowed me to push the boundaries on what I think/thought I am/was capable of.

What areas are you working to improve?
My form on all of the Olympic lifts so that I can lift heavier weights and eventually do pull-ups without a band.

If you could have a theme song playing when you workout, what would it be?
It varies, but currently I would say Shake It Off by Taylor Swift. Its so catchy and I love the beat.

If we named a WOD for you, what would it consist of?
Most likely box jumps, handstand push-ups and AKBS.

Are you paleo? Zone? Neither? Some of all? What is your experience with that?
Before starting CrossFit I had never heard of Paleo so now I do a combination of things. Essentially I try to avoid anything processed and eat lean meat, veggies and a little dairy.

Do you use CrossFit principals in any other areas of your life?
Absolutely. All of the work in the gym has given me more confidence which has carried over into my work and everyday life.

What do you like to do in your down time?
Spending time with friends and family, playing with my 2 miniature dachshunds, shopping, trying new restaurants/bars.